Friday, November 9, 2018

READ IT! - Introduction to Isaiah 1-3

Introduction to Isaiah 1-3

Isaiah is the first book in a section known as the Major Prophets. 

The first 39 chapters of Isaiah take place during the time of the events of the second half of the book of 2nd Kings. 

The book of Isaiah is not presented in chronological order. 

The book opens with the words: 

“The vision concerning Judah and Jerusalem that Isaiah son of Amoz saw during the reigns of Uzziah, Jotham, Ahaz and Hezekiah, kings of Judah.” 

The book of Isaiah can be divided into different sections according to different theories of authorship… 

1st Isaiah – Isaiah 1:1–39:8 (pre-exilic)
2nd Isaiah – Isaiah 40:1–66:24 (exilic) 

1st Isaiah – Isaiah 1:1–39:8 (pre-exilic)
2nd Isaiah– Isaiah 40:1–55:13 (exilic)
3rd Isaiah – Isaiah 56:1–66:24 (post-exilic) 

Chapters 1-2 

The opening chapters of Isaiah deal with Judah’s rebellion against the covenant they made with God. But God plans to redeem his people living on his holy mountain of Zion (Jerusalem) and through them to spread his Law to all the nations of the world. And there will be no more wars. 

We then hear about the “Day of the LORD” which is described as a “day of judgment, terror, and destruction.” 

Isaiah says:

“People will flee to caves in the rocks
and to holes in the ground
from the fearful presence of the Lord
and the splendor of his majesty,
when he rises to shake the earth.” 

Chapter 3 

Isaiah then talks about the coming judgment on Jerusalem and Judah. He says that God is going to “cut off” the leaders of his people who have abused their positions of authority. Also, God is going to judge the women of Judah who trusted in their beauty and jewelry.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for your comments!